BOOKS

All evening, I’ve been conscious of other eyes behind mine, other watchers in my brain. I’m ready to end that.

Valeria the Fifth is losing her identity. Part of an elite research collective, she is forced to share her thoughts every week with those around her. With her boss. With her friends. With her crush.

And each week, she loses a little more of herself, a little more of what makes her unique, as she gains the knowledge and memories of her peers.

But freedom to make her own choices will mean freedom to make her own mistakes too. And the price for some mistakes is higher than she can pay. 

“C.F.E. Black stuns with her smart, science fiction debut, perfect for fans of Divergent and Black Mirror.” – Caroline George, author of Dearest Josephine and The Vestige

“C. F. E. Black's debut novel hooked me from the very first chapter. The world she has created is intriguing, and the twists are delightfully unexpected. Readers who enjoy Suzanne Collins, Veronica Roth, Scott Westerfeld, and Marissa Meyer will love C. F. E. Black.” – Krista McGee, author of Anomaly

COMING MARCH 16, 2021

 

Stories that

light the

dark.

BIO

If you're a teen, I work for you.

I write for you. I teach for you.

 

Seven days a week I seek to shine light into the world-darkened lives of young people, whether it be in a high school Spanish class, a youth group Sunday school class, or a coffee shop with my computer writing my next book.

I want my writing to be a bright spot on a dark shelf, a source of truth among many lies. You guys deserve books like this.

 

I live in north Alabama with my son, one droopy hound dog, a cat named Sprinkles, and my superhero husband. No, really, he saved my life once. It’s a cool story.

 

If you want to know more about me, my writing, or my escapades as a teacher, please visit my blog.

Mind of Mine is my first novel.

 
No upcoming events at the moment

News: NEW COVER and NEW TITLE coming to you soon! Look for the official cover reveal on YA Books Central on February 16! 

Book Release Date: March 16, 2021. 

No events on the radar for now, but stay tuned! 

If you'd like me to come visit your school, contact me via the form below! 

 

CONTACT

Subscribe for updates on the writing life and sneak peeks into my latest projects. Also, you'll get an exclusive bonus chapter from my novel for subscribing! 

Follow me:

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
Have a question? Contact me here.
I love hearing from my readers!
 
© 2018 by CFEBLACK